Physician, Heal Thyself ~ or ~ I’m Getting Clearer All the Time

Morning climbers walking on foggy mountain plateau

Image by Horia Varlan via Flickr

Worrying about how other people are behaving is a misdirection. It’s a fabulous way to avoid looking at our own stuff and making changes from the inside out.

Whenever, WHENEVER, I begin to judge someone else, my next thought is ~ how am I that which I am condemning in them. I will never ask anyone else to be, do, or change anything I am not willing to be, do or change within myself.

The best advice I have to offer is to not worry about the choices that others make. Do not concern yourself over their right or wrong behavior. Always, always clean up your own self first. Physician, heal thyself.

I recognize in this statement that I am a leader. I am not THE leader, but I do have a role to play in the advancement of humanity.

I look at it like a human chain, one hand holding onto the next. There are those who have walked before me and there are those who walk after me. I am obligated to follow best practices so that those following me are not led on too many detours. I make sure that I’m wearing good shoes, have a clear map of where I’m going, and take care of my needs along the way so that I don’t stumble or fall because of exhaustion.

This entry was posted in explorations of consciousness, spiritual exploration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

