The Rest of the Story

Scott Alan Miller - First Day of Third Grade, 1984

There are many pieces to this puzzle that have run through my life, the major one being an experience I had when I was in 3rd grade. As I got older, the recollection of that event is what gave me the idea that I might have had a bad experience with the Nazis.

Much earlier than that though, the stage had been set. I had watched some awful movie on television where Nazis were using blood from children for their soldiers. They used so much blood that the children died. One of the scenes was of a grandfather holding his dying grandchild in his arms. It was really a terrifying sight.

So, in third grade I was hospitalized with pneumonia. After I had been there for several days, someone other than the usual nurse came to draw blood from me. This time, it was a male nurse. He talked softly and calmly, attempting to engage me, but as soon as I saw it was a man, I was suspicious. I flashed back to that movie and knew I was in a fight for my life. I was NOT going to let him take my blood. If he did, I knew I would die.

As I fought the needle, nurses came from all over to hold me down. Now, I’d had blood drawn before that, without even a whimper. I liked watching it fill the vial. I was fascinated by how beautiful it was. But not that time.

There were six adults trying to hold me down when I heard one say, she’s too upset now. They left the room and I fell into an exhausted sleep. Later, a nurse woke me up and boy was she mad at me. She was chewing me out for what I’d done. I didn’t get one soothing word from her. Not once did she ask me why I was upset.

Hours later, when they sent a female nurse for the draw, all went smoothly. And no one ever asked me why. They didn’t ever tell my parents about the incident in which they had 6 or more adults trying to hold down their nine year old child.

Back to the present.

The revelation about a woman writing a book about past lives that could be documented piqued my interest. I did a quick bit of research. I learned a few interesting tidbits. Not documentation  certainly, but it may be the beginning of a breadcrumb trail.

First, I looked up Nn’Kaa in Google and  found a name that was similar enough to show up. The name was from West Africa.

Then I learned that during WWII the Scottish Guard were active in major conflicts in West Africa.

Last, I checked out biographical info on John Goodman. He was born in 1952. That makes him three years older than me. But what I found interesting was that, in 2007, when he was 55, he stopped drinking. According to what I read, he said, “I don’t know how much the old Jackie Daniels franchise ruined my memory, which is going anyway, because of my advancing decrepitude. I had a 30-year run, and at the end I didn’t care about anything. I was just fed up with myself. I didn’t even want to be an actor anymore.”

During night school, did the 56 year old Bonnie go back and have a talk with the 55 year old JG? And learn about a relationship they had in another life? Freaky. Cool. Weird. And likely true.

This entry was posted in explorations of consciousness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.