Letting Go Of Illusion

BUDDHA

This feeling keeps playing with me, that if one person can let go of who they   _are not_  for long enough to be who they truly are, we will all fly free of the illusion. I think that’s what the Buddha did. He’s not the only one. There have been others and there will be more.

These teachers are all around us. They show us ways to drop all of what we are not. We can follow in their footsteps. We can follow any path we choose to get there, but it is ours to do. It is our task to free ourselves from the illusion that we are not God, that we are not One with Source.

Choosing to go to The Beloved is the gift we give back for the gift we are given of our own freedom to choose.

Yesterday, someone asked why it’s so hard to let go of people you love that are moving away from you.  There is no special wisdom I have to share with you about this. I only have my own experience.

I was in my first marriage for over  20 years. I was proud to have been married for that long. So many people I knew were on second or third marriages. And certainly being married for 20 years made me better than them. Ha! See the ego at work.

But the two of us had finally learned to be partners. And it was good. We both felt we were on a grand adventure.  And then everything changed. Overnight. My husband, my best friend, was gone.

I went through a great deal of pain. I did not want to let go. Things had been going so well and our life together was good. But it changed.

What I learned from that was that it was like there was a rope I was holding onto. The tighter I held on, the more I got burned by the rope pulling through my hands.  Everything was changing and if I held on, it only hurt more. So I let go.

In that moment I had no idea who I was. I had been married for such a long time that I’d never had a chance to learn who I was. I was daughter to my parents, wife to my husband, mother to my children and I never had the chance to explore who I was.

In the time of that life shaking experience, I had the space open up to learn who I am. It gave me the opportunity to express my strengths. If my life had not changed then, I think I would have stayed underdeveloped, a weakling in my own eyes. I would have stayed in a place of dependence.

Change can be painful. When you’re fighting it, it’s not fun. But when you can let go of those who move in and out of your life you’ll find that being fluid with the change makes life easier. Think of it that way. As the river of life.

Recognize that we are never separate. We are always with everyone we’ve ever loved and cared for. No one is forgotten. No one is left out. The past is memory, the future is imagination. But the reality is that there is no past or future, there is only NOW.  We are all in the river together.

Then you begin to see the illusion. And seeing through the illusion will set you free.

This entry was posted in explorations of consciousness, miracles and healing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letting Go Of Illusion

  1. matarikidimension says:

    Thank you .. I really enjoyed this post.

  2. Kathleen Hawthorne says:

    I have been following your posts since you began this blog. This is absolutely one of the best. Thank you and keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

