Past Basic Concepts

A friend had a question for me. “I think that if there is such a thing as evolving human psyche it is an evolving towards a sixth sense (for now) that enables us to give and take with the rest of the “what is” in the universe. So I am not looking for self improvement so much as a tuning in. I want whatever is blocking off my listener to be removed. So, what is it I need to accept, past the basic concept?”

And my response was this. First of all, I like that you begin with “if there is such a thing”. There are so few things I’m truly sure of, that I always hesitate to use absolutes.

But let’s go with the supposition that we do have a developing sixth sense. Oh heck, let’s go further and say that we HAVE a sixth sense that is actively feeding us information and we’re just not yet fully open to it. My own experience is, there are multiple ways of communication and information gathering beyond what I can see with my own two eyes.

Whatever this soup is that we are all a part of; it is ONE THING. And there is constant communication going on between all parts. Current science tells us that we are constantly sharing atoms with everything else in the Universe. If I’m sharing atoms and who knows what else, then the information is already a part of me. It’s not just in front of me, it’s a part of me.

So, in my exploration if I want to know what a tree is, I don’t go cut it down and dissect it. That will give me a physical description of its parts and how the physical parts perform, but that doesn’t give me the whole story. And, I’ve just killed a tree.

If I share atoms with a tree is there any reason I can’t explore the tree from the inside? I’m sharing the physical atoms and I’m in the soup of dark matter that connects everything. IS THERE any reason I can’t explore the tree from the inside? The answer I get to that question is, no. So I go for it.

As I write, you’ll find I have many more questions than answers. I don’t know if I’ll ever get to all the questions, but it keeps me busy and it feels like that’s part of why I’m here.

So, my process is to go inside. If I am not my brain and not my body, if I am Consciousness, then wherever I focus my attention, that’s where I Am.

My face is where I interface with my physical world. I see everything that’s in front of me. Because my eyes are my primary tool for obtaining information about the physical world, I use them as a starting point for my inner exploration. My journey begins there.

Take some time with this exercise. If you’ve not done meditation before, remember that it’s like exercising your muscles. You get stronger and better at it with regular practice.

I close my eyes. Sitting quietly, I feel my breathing soften, slow and become very even and steady. Then move my attention back into the center of my head and let my attention drop down, down, down into the center. Some call it dropping into the heart center. I explore from there.

Okay, now there’s a tree. What’s it like to be a tree? What does it feel like? Practice feeling what it feels like to be a tree. Pay attention to what shows up. You may feel the limbs and leaves and roots. You may feel the respiration cycle of the tree. If you go deep enough you will likely begin to see and hear even more. It’s not for me to tell you what you will experience. This is YOUR experience. Your exploration.

What about a dog? I really like this one. What is a dog? Now I’m more of a dog person than a cat person. Not that cats aren’t wonderful, but I still have ancient memories residing in my brain of being chased and eaten by cats, while dogs were licking my hand and keeping wild beasts away.

So what does a dog feel like? What does it feel like to be a dog? Ask as many questions as you want and wait for answers.

In 2005, I watched What the Bleep Do We Know. The film gave me further confirmation and explanation of the interconnectedness of everything. I personally love all the possibilities that the exploration of quantum physics opens for us.

About 15 years ago, after reading one of his books, I called Fred Alan Wolf who was in “What The Bleep Do We Know” to talk quantum physics . A friend couldn’t believe I’d called him to talk, but I laughed and told her, he’s just a person. And he was a really nice person to talk with. But that’s me, willing to follow leads anywhere.

Those who are studying such things are now thinking that we what we call reality is something like a hologram. It’s certainly not solid. It’s a projection from somewhere else. Hmmmm, would that be what I call Source?

I have continued my contemplation of the illusion of separation and the reality that we are connected on the atomic level, not only to every other person on this planet, but to every leaf, tree and star in the Universe.

The most important thing I’ve learned in the last few years is to notice what I notice. Pay attention to what’s right in front of you, be present and show up.

One evening, soon after watching the “What The Bleep” film, I sat in meditation and asked, “IF I am in connected to EVERYTHING, then I should be able to be anywhere at anytime.” I looked up at a star high over my head… and thought myself there. There was suddenly blazing light surrounding me and I was so startled, I popped right back into my body. I was there for only a moment, but I know I was there. I don’t know if I was physically there, but my consciousness was there. It’s one of the things I KNOW right down to my toes.

That’s my experience. Now go exploring.

This entry was posted in meditation exercises, spiritual exploration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Past Basic Concepts

  1. Doug Wilson says:

    I woke this morning thinking about remote viewing. Ingo Swann said that it’s an extension of our consciousness. I’ve always been miffed at the lack of timeless memory. I mean, if we’re eternal, passing through this dimensional phase, where’s the memory of our existence?

    You mentioned spiritual tools. Not knowing what spiritual means I just look for answers to my questions. The question of my memory loss might be in Ingo’s statement. Doesn’t explain why I don’t seem to have any recollection of a prior existence but might be a clue on how to remember.

    The best explanation I can come up with as to the missing memory is – it’s part of the ride. The universe offers experiences like carnival rides. One of them is “Go to Earth”. Wake up slowly with no idea what you’re doing there, how you got there or who you are. When it’s over, you and your friends compare results – see how you handled it, what you came up with and what thoughts you had.

    This might suggest a little boredom on the part of our higher selves. On the other hand what could be more challenging than to forget you ever existed. I guess I’ll know for sure at the big show and tell party.

    • What is your daily meditation?

      By spiritual, I mean that which is not physical. I’m working from the premise that we are “spirit”, whatever that is, grounded in the physical in order to explore. That is my belief. I can’t prove it by current physical science, but I think science just doesn’t have the tools.

      I love your idea of this being like a carnival ride. It certainly has its ups and downs. From what it looks like to me is that we are here to have the experience.

      Consistent meditation is the way to explore beyond the physical. And that includes those past life memories. It can be done.

      I used deep relaxation (self-hypnosis) to retrieve some of my memories and I worked with another person who used hypnosis to help me with some of this also. Learning about your past lives does have benefit in showing you major themes and lessons that carry through time after time.

      I’m currently reading “Spontaneous Evolution, our positive future and a way to get there from here” by Bruce Lipton and Steve Bhaerman.

      Here’s a clip:

      Albert Einstein stated that a problem couldn’t be solved at the same level it was created. Never has that assessment been truer than today when all of our reality checks seem to be bouncing. Clearly, we can no longer solve our problems by doing exactly what we’ve been doing. More weaponry doesn’t bring peace. More prisons don’t reduce crime. More expensive health care doesn’t make us healthier Nor does information make us wiser.

      In lieu of focusing on the crisis, we are encouraged to escape into addictions and distractions conveniently placed before us to keep us preoccupied and passive.

  2. Doug Wilson says:

    I understand what most people mean by spiritual. Is there a thing that is not physical? I’ve always had trouble sifting through the semantics. I see everything as physical (Plasma, Empty Space, Thought). This wording thing comes up with the use of the term “Heart”. Would following your heart be different than following your conscience? To me they are they probably both saying the same thing.

    I have an idea for a good first step to “Getting There From Here”: Stop killing each other. We could call that, Step one. Nice to see you got a great big blog. Have fun….

    • Bonnie York says:

      I view what most of us see as physical and what most don’t see as spiritual, but it’s all part of the whole.

      Only while we are HERE, we are working with duality. It’s like we say, here this place and there, that other place. The reality is there is only now. It’s apparently how we’ve constructed this NOW.

      Oh, what was your question

      Yes, stop killing. But, where to start. First, we learn to take responsibility for our own actions. We have to look at and accept that we’ve done all those things to others. I’ve seen some of the things I’ve done to others. In other lives, I’ve raped, murdered and done worse. I’ve not seen it all, but I can feel it. I accept that. It is done. No undoing what’s done.

      But I’ve learned that I don’t have to get caught up in the constructions of human ego. Oh, of course I do, but I’m working on that. I have a choice.

      Mark Dunn says that whoever the first person was to kill another has some really big karma.

      Oh, ego… I think I figured something out today. Our ego has something to do with holding us here physically. It is a useful construction but it can also be a nasty piece of work. It thinks IT is the big dog, running the show. It’s the part of us that believes in the separation. Our higher self knows there is only Unity.

Leave a Reply

